Trivendra Singh Rawat : Uttarakhand’s New CM


Former Uttarakhand BJP chief Trivendra Singh Rawat was sworn in today as the state’s chief minister after the party won a landslide victory there in last month’s Assembly polls.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah were among the top BJP leaders who attended the swearing-in ceremony. Governor KK Paul administered the oath. The BJP won 57 seats in the 70-member Assembly.

Rawat defeated the Congress’s Hira Singh Bisht in the Doiwala constituency with a margin of over 24,000 votes. This was his third win from the constituency since 2002.

Rawat, a Thakur leader, was among the frontrunners for the uttarakhand’s CM post, in part due to his strong RSS roots.

He was an RSS pracharak from 1983 to 2002 and held several important positions in the Sangh. Besides Rawat, Satpal Maharaj and Prakash Pant were in the race for the post.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here